Sheriff Koutoujian Message From The President

by Sheriff Peter J. Koutoujian, President

From its inception, Major County Sheriffs of America aimed to be an organization representing the very best of law enforcement and corrections. Our members have always been the innovators, trailblazers, and leaders of our field. This remains true today, as our sheriffs lead the way on issues ranging from officer wellness, behavioral health programs, community engagement and more.

We are able to be leaders in the best practices of our field because each of us is, first and foremost, a public servant. We are proud to represent over 100 million citizens across the United States, with our membership expanding each year. Working together, as a unified coalition, we serve those we are sworn to protect as they seek an inclusive, involved and inventive model for law enforcement and criminal justice.

In the coming years, I will work to ensure the voice of every MCSA member is represented and included, and I will seek your input as to how this organization can grow even stronger. Every sheriff brings the ideas, experiences and aspirations of their constituency to their job. I want you to bring those to this organization as well, because it is through our diversity that we can fulfill our mission of leading the way.

As your President, I am honored to work on behalf of such an impressive assembly of law enforcement executives.  Thank you for your continued commitment to this organization and, more importantly, the people you serve with distinction every day.

Sheriff Peter J. Koutoujian  
Middlesex County Sheriff’s Office

Executive Officers

Immediate Past President
Sheriff Grady Judd

Polk County Sheriff’s Office
1891 Jim Keene Blvd
Winter Haven, FL 33880
(863) 298-6647


President Sheriff Peter J. Koutoujian

Middlesex County Sheriff’s Office
400 Mystic Avenue, 4th FL
Medford, MA 02155
(781) 960-2800

Sheriff Napier

Vice President 
Sheriff Mark D. Napier

Pima County, AZ Sheriff’s Office
1750 E Benson Hwy
Tucson, AZ 85714 
(520) 351-4701

Vice President – Government Affairs
Sheriff Michael J. Bouchard

Oakland County Sheriff’s Office
1201 North Telegraph Road
Pontiac, MI 48341 
(248) 858-5001


Vice President – Homeland Security
Sheriff Mike Chapman

Loudoun County Sheriff’s Office
803 Sycolin Road
Leesburg, VA 20175
(703) 777-0407

Sheriff David J. Mahoney

Dane County Sheriff’s Office 
115 W. Doty Street
Madison, WI 53703
(608) 284-6170


Sheriff Bob Gualtieri

Pinellas County Sheriff ’s Office
10750 Ulmerton Road
Largo, FL 33778
(727) 582-6206.

MCSA Staff

Kimberly J. Wagner, Executive Director, e-mail, 703-778-1381

Donna Stark, Assistant to the Executive Director, e-mail, 703-447-0450

Leslie Teitel as the Executive Assistant, e-mail, 703-778-1382

Additional Subcommittees and Assignments

Sheriff Margaret Mims

MCSA Foundation
Sheriff Margaret Mims,  
Fresno County, CA – President


Legal Affairs Committee
Sheriff Bob Gualtieri 
Pinellas County, FL – Chairman


Intelligence Commanders Committee 
Sheriff Mike Chapman 
Loudon County, VA  – Chairman


Communications Committee
Sheriff Peter Koutoujian, 
Middlesex, MA – Chairman

Sheriff Cannon

Sergeant at Arms
Sheriff Al Cannon, 
Charleston County, SC

Sheriff Hutchinson 2020

Technology Committee
Sheriff Dave Hutchinson, 
Hennepin County, MN – Chairman


Professional Development Committee
Sheriff Leon Lott, 
Richland County SC, – Chairman


Nominations and Award Committee
Sheriff Bill Waybourn 
Tarrant County, TX – Committee Chairman

Sheriff Napier

Border Security Committee
Sheriff Mark D. Napier, 
Pima County, AZ  – Chairman